A Beautiful Mess: The Contemporary Works of Erin Dobbins

What a lovely weekend. From top to bottom, it was a thrill. I went to two art shows, bought a fancy camera and painted by the river.

Erin Dobbins has been a great friend and I’m glad we’ve gotten so close this year. We play chess, go on walks, and kill it when it comes to heart to hearts.

Friday night was the Croft’s opening reception for A Beautiful Mess: The Contemporary Works of Erin Dobbins. Erin is a talented painter and writer (she’s never made a fuss about her writing, but it’s one of the things I most admire). Most of her artistic career has centered around the technical and intellectual approach to painting portraits. However, in the last six months, Erin has felt lead to take her art in a different direction. The entire collection is non-objective and focuses on the messy process versus a predictable result. It was a very vulnerable show for her, as I’m sure anyone who has let go of tradition can attest to.

Her paintings inspired me. If Erin could create beauty from chaos, then I could at least try to create beauty from nothing. Fight. Refine. React. Restore. I took my watercolors, oil pastels and a blanket to a lovely spot by the river. I don’t remember the last time I felt so peaceful. I was by myself and didn’t care about the time. I didn’t have an agenda. The sun was out, but the weather was nice. The breeze kept me cool. I was barefoot and got dirty. I didn’t know where to start, but the show inspired me to start somewhere. I shall title my piece, “An Awkward Encounter.”

*The show is on display at the Croft Art Gallery for the rest of the month (25th). They’re open Monday-Friday 11-5.

4 Comments

  1. Posted 05/07/2012 at 8:58 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Your watercolor is beautiful Becky! Post a pic? :)

    • Posted 05/07/2012 at 10:36 AM | Permalink | Reply

      Not sure I want to share. Maybe I will, but I kind of think I should keep some stuff separate from the blog for now.

    • Posted 05/07/2012 at 10:37 AM | Permalink | Reply

      I mean, I can show you sometime. Obviously.

  2. Posted 05/10/2012 at 2:04 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Erin’s collection is brilliant! Both her descriptions and the excellent promotion in this blog have held my hand and brought me along a beautiful education. Would it be too much to say it’s evangelizing my art-appreciating soul? I have seen the light!

Your thoughts matter:

