Everything I know about duvet covers

1. Worst chore: putting duvet back on comforter. I just want to wash the duvet and be happy about it. I want to enjoy the process as much as I enjoy the end result. But no. You have to take the dumb thing off. Wash it. Dry it, then…you have to match the corners up and tie the dumb thing back in place. I always go for the crawl in this matching process. I feel like a cat trapped in a dismantled tent. Again, worst chore.

2. Tip: if you’re like me and you fall asleep with a ballpoint pen in hand from time to time, you are going to end up with a splotchy duvet cover. Once it is almost to the point of no return, remember that there is one last thing you can try…fabric dye! I used this trick on my beige West Elm duvet. I tried to color it charcoal, but as happy accidents go, it transformed itself into an acid wash plumb. I still love it. Pictures will appear on my unborn post, ‘Thrifty Like Me’.

photos via Sandra Juto 

2 Comments

  1. Posted 05/17/2012 at 8:52 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Becky. You are doing it all wrong. Turn the duvet cover inside out. Match up the 2 adjacent corners that are the farthest inside (when it’s all said and done) and tie. Then you can start turning it RIGHT-side-out and eventually you can tie the other 2 corners. Button that sucker up and have some sweet dreams.

    I’m so glad you have me for things like this…

  2. Posted 05/18/2012 at 6:35 AM | Permalink | Reply

    My husband also hates putting the duvet cover on.

    Donation-Can.com

Your thoughts matter:

