I’d Rather be Short is getting published!

I can’t hold in the secret any longer: I’d Rather be Short is going to get published! When I was in Kindergarten, I told my teacher that I was going to write and illustrate books when I got older. It’s actually here. I can hardly believe it. My agent has been amazing and landed us several bids. I am thrilled to have Plume (imprint of Penguin) as my publisher. I have a few IRBS drawings posted, but there are many many more to go. I have learned a ton through this process and I can’t wait to write more about it in the next few days. Thank you for all your support with this series. I don’t want to take for granted all of the people who have helped me along the way. I am so blessed to get to do what I love so much.

The book will be released Fall of 2013, but I need to have it complete in the next few months. This is my official warning to the locals: you may not see me for a little while.

(This is why I said I was looking for help yesterday. Please feel free to contact me if you want to contribute to the blog — I’d love to feature essays, art, music videos, opinions, rants, raves, style collages, etc.)

Want more short love? Follow the twitter account @idratherbeshort

14 Comments

  1. Posted 07/17/2012 at 1:50 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Congratulations on a dream come true for you and a victory for short people everywhere!

  2. Posted 07/17/2012 at 2:06 PM | Permalink | Reply

    a big fat juicy congratulations to you, becky! what an awesome experience! so proud of you.

  3. Posted 07/17/2012 at 2:07 PM | Permalink | Reply

    HOORAY HOORAY HOORAY!
    This is fantastic! So, so proud of you!

  4. Rocio
    Posted 07/17/2012 at 2:50 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats! I love the drawings and can’t wait for the book :)

  5. Anonymous
    Posted 07/17/2012 at 3:21 PM | Permalink | Reply

    So exciting! Short people rock.

  6. Posted 07/17/2012 at 3:59 PM | Permalink | Reply

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!! So, so awesome!!! Congratulations!!!

  7. Posted 07/17/2012 at 4:29 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Ahh man! How cool is this! I’m sooooo happy for you and can’t wait to go buy it! Hugs from Mama Bear!

  8. Posted 07/17/2012 at 9:12 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Yay!! That’s awesome, congrats!!

  9. Maggie
    Posted 07/17/2012 at 10:23 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats, Becky!!! So exciting! Love the pics and illustrations. :)

  10. Posted 07/23/2012 at 10:59 AM | Permalink | Reply

    LOVE it! Congrats. I always enjoy IRBS posts!

  11. Posted 04/21/2013 at 4:11 AM | Permalink | Reply

    are generally established

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] Be Short”. Well, long story short (sorry, couldn’t resist), her series of blog posts are now going to be a book. This is a wonderful example of following a personal passion, working hard, and good things result. […]

  2. […] posts build interest, and I haven’t done this since I found out the book was getting published. I think two per year is a fair number. That’s the same amount of workout brags we’re […]

Your thoughts matter:

