micro funk evolution

My friend Amy said, “If we unlock our past, we have the key to our future.” She was talking about the bigger scope, but it still holds true for the day to day.

I am amazed at how often I embark on a routine that is destined to fail, yet I do it over and over again. You’d think I’d learn by now. Until I step back and deconstruct it like a child, I will keep running in circles. Simple example:

Monday was a torpid day. I was unmotivated at work and unmotivated when I went home to work on the book. That didn’t make me especially excited to tap into Tuesday.

Typically I would roll my eyes and remember that it’s just one of those days. This time I took note of several lapses. Since I only got a few hours of sleep, the day started out with tired eyes and a womp womp attitude. I also didn’t give myself time to unwind between day job and book illustrating. The worst part about said funk is that it doesn’t cure itself without reformation. Typical Becky: “Wasn’t productive today, therefore I will stay up late so I can go to bed feeling accomplished. TOMORROW WILL BE DIFFERENT, self.”

Keeping that in mind, I made sure to redeem Tuesday. Woke up early, went to the gym (even though I was lazy bones — probably gained non-muscle weight, BUT I WENT. Really though, I ate food while doing sit ups. I yawned when it was time to go home.) I slept twice as long and I had a a treat-yo-self hour between work and book (ice cream + watched Tiny Furniture). I even wrapped up at a reasonable hour, despite not getting as much done as I hoped. Guess what else I did…I read. For 30 wonderful minutes. And I didn’t even feel bad about it.

More posts regarding time & being intentional with it & why it also doesn’t matter & why it also does.


photos from here | Follow @beckycmurphy for more twitter goods.

2 Comments

  1. Posted 08/22/2012 at 12:18 PM | Permalink | Reply

    “This rebellion of your moods against your real self is going to come anyway. That is why faith is such a necessary virtue. Unless you teach your moods where they get off, you can never be a either a sound Christian or even a sound atheist, but just a creature dithering to and fro with its beliefs really dependent on the weather and the state of its digestion.” — C.S. Lewis

  2. Posted 08/31/2012 at 9:40 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I really am so fond of your blog. I admire your aesthetic. I’m grateful to be introduced to fabulous things I likely would’ve missed out on, otherwise. But some of my favorite posts are these sort of heart-to-heart moments. They always bring something I need and can use. That you work in a Parks & Rec reference only makes it better.

    Basically, I’m so glad you’re here and doing what you do! :) Thank you!

Your thoughts matter:

