Welcome to Friday

For me

 It’s not the daily increase but daily decrease. Hack away at the unessential.  —Bruce Lee

After listening to the best interview I’ve ever heard on the Relevant podcast (Bob Goff), I was inspired to start quitting  something every week. Who knows how big, how trivial, or how permanent or how consistent I’m talking. The point is, we are all too busy and we leave almost no wiggle room for ourselves. I want to have more than a small crevice for God to sneak into.

For now, I’m quitting Etsy. If you’re still interested in getting one of my goods, you can still contact me. I probably won’t have anything to do with it until the book is over, but hey, you can always ask.

Party favors for you:

Flossing is better than brushing.

Google PhD. I bookmarked this site forever ago. I finally looked it over and wonder how I’ve gotten this far without it.

Don’t forget! Today is knee-slappin Friday. Check back this afternoon for a treat from Brie Diddy.

*F from MaricorMaricar

@beckycmurphy is still on twitter. Don’t follow her.

7 Comments

  1. Posted 08/31/2012 at 9:18 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Becky,

    I’m going to have some of my own art ready to sell by end of year and am trying to figure out if I should go through etsy or just keep it on my site and bill through paypal. What was your experience with easy? Good? Bad? Indifferent?

    Matt

    • Posted 08/31/2012 at 10:57 AM | Permalink | Reply

      If you’re trying to sell it anyway, Etsy is a good option.

      It’s free traffic and a reputable place to post your work. I’m getting away from it because I have enough other things going on. I don’t have most pieces pre-made, so every order = not worth the money at this time.

  2. Posted 08/31/2012 at 9:19 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Oops. I meant etsy. Darn auto correct.

  3. Posted 08/31/2012 at 10:15 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Despite having a bookcase full of mostly unread books and a tiny collection of unreads growing in the Kindle app, I’ve been on the verge of acquiring Bob Goff’s Love Does. So I got excited about this podcast you speak of, and went to download it. I also got distracted by other offerings popping up in the related search. But I’ve come back to continue bombarding your blog with comments! ;)

    Oh, girl, you make my heart happy doing right by you! And thanks for inspiring myself and others to do the same.

    • Posted 09/01/2012 at 12:21 PM | Permalink | Reply

      I must say, your comment sprees make my day. Don’t hold back. EVER. Your comments keep me going. Thank you so so much for your continued encouragement :)

      p.s. can’t wait to write about Love Does…after I get it…and read it…

  4. Posted 09/05/2012 at 12:50 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! I’m glad you approve of my comment sprees! I do so enjoy the big serving of your posts that make such sprees possible. So, basically, we both win here! :)

    p.s. I can’t wait to read what you write after getting and reading Love Does!

Your thoughts matter:

