Book Report II: friendspiration

Friendspiration:

1. Erin’s farmer tanline (exaggerated. Plus it’s on a dude.) / 2. Lesli’s (old) fear of jackalopes / 3. Katie and Stancy’s website (designing) / 4. grandma garbs I wore in college, which just so happened to also be seen on a sweet elderly woman at Fareway. / 4. Twin Peaks & Chipper Things  / 6. Laine’s boots, of course.

I try my best to take a full day off every week. I really do. There are a million reasons for this and life is always better when the schedule fits around Sunday vs. into Sunday.

This week was different. I was not into it. Didn’t want to work on the book. Had to, but didn’t want to. I got off to a late start (holiday, friend in town, shotty internet), so when I could work I was overwhelmed and didn’t get a personal day.

I feel no shame in divulging this information because with any big project (no matter how much you want to do it), there are going to be those days  when working feels a little less natural. Despite my baditude, I produced the best batch of 10 this book has seen. Every round is better than the last. What does that say for the first ten (peppered throughout)? Those are the troublemakers that I don’t have the energy to control. “Ice cream for breakfast. Cut your own hair. Draw on your teeth. As long as Editor and Agent say it’s fine, I don’t care what you do,” is how I parent those drawings… I wish.

The reality is that I deeply care about this book turning out to be [hopefully] [much] better than average. I don’t know if this blog is where I’m supposed to butter it up and sell sell sell, or if I can be honest along the way? Oh yes, I will go with the honesty. I want the designers and illustrators I admire to not only approve, but not be opposed to going out of their way to share it with someone else. I also want 15-year-olds to laugh as they flip through, but walk away with a gust of empowerment. I want that more than the former, but I really want both.


@beckycmurphy

10 Comments

  1. Posted 09/10/2012 at 11:48 AM | Permalink | Reply

    I CANNOT wait for this book to come out, and what makes it even better is being able to watch the process!

    • Posted 09/10/2012 at 12:05 PM | Permalink | Reply

      Ahhh! I can’t wait either. I’m trying to make it something I’m proud of in a year. So exhausting, but I know that will reap the biggest reward.

      Thanks for your support, Natalie :)

  2. Anonymous
    Posted 09/10/2012 at 12:34 PM | Permalink | Reply

    love your honesty B

  3. Posted 09/11/2012 at 12:26 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Love this post Becky! You’re doing great–don’t be too hard on yourself (and don’t burn out)! When all is said and done you will be the only one who can point our the minor imperfections that bother you and someday you won’t even care about them, you’ll just be proud of your first published piece.

    • Posted 09/11/2012 at 12:43 PM | Permalink | Reply

      You are so right! I do feel really good about everything. I just want to be transparent through the process. I don’t people to think that since I’m getting published, everything is so easy and happy go lucky. This huge blessing and opportunity comes with a lot of responsibility. Good things. All good things. Thanks for reading, friend :)

  4. Posted 09/12/2012 at 11:06 AM | Permalink | Reply

    I just discovered your blog and instantly feel inspired by all of the great art/illustration on here. It’s also refreshing to see someone working so hard to make something great. I also am always working on that work/life balance!

    • Posted 09/12/2012 at 12:43 PM | Permalink | Reply

      You are so sweet! Thanks for checking it out! I have been so busy with the book that I’ve been a poor blogger lately. I can’t speak highly enough for doing side projects. Sometimes they turn out okay :)

  5. Posted 09/21/2012 at 9:40 PM | Permalink | Reply

    You have been a fabulous blogger! Granted, I have been a horrible commenter, so it’s like I arrive to a party of 1-2 weeks’ worth of posts. But it’s less the frequency and more the content. You always have something that is worth reading, that makes me smile and that inspires. And you are living a dream AND sharing the process, which is so generous and beautiful!

    I don’t care if I am biased, it is still true. You are amazing and wonderful and you should be reminded of it as often as it bears repeating, because who couldn’t hear these truths more often?

    • Posted 09/21/2012 at 9:44 PM | Permalink | Reply

      I am smiling from ear to ear. I was just thinking, “WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING ON THIS BLOG??!!!”

      So your words mean A LOT. That doesn’t do this encouragement justice, but just know that it means so much.

    • Posted 09/21/2012 at 9:44 PM | Permalink | Reply

      I am smiling from ear to ear. I was just thinking, “WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING ON THIS BLOG??!!!”

      So your words mean A LOT. That doesn’t do this encouragement justice, but just know that it means so much.

      Thank you.

Your thoughts matter:

