Any Netflix recommendations?

I listen to a lot of music during the week when I’m drawing. When it comes time to edit the illustrations, I can hang out with TV and Photoshop. These clips are from That Mitchell and Webb Look, a British sketch comedy that I have been watching non-stop recently. That’s why I say, “That’s Numberwang!” when you say a number of any sort. It’s from 2006 [that’s numberwang], so I wouldn’t be surprised if you’re already over this. Check it out on Netflix if you haven’t already.

Do you have any commendations? Anything and everything (on instant queue) is welcome. The options are  so overwhelming that I just prefer to be told what to see. Documentaries, indie films, foreign tv shows, cult classics, new stuff, whatever. Let me know. Thanks for your help!


@beckycmurphy

6 Comments

  1. Bill
    Posted 09/13/2012 at 6:33 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Must watch documentaries:
    The Rock-afire Explosion
    Shut Up, Little Man
    Dear Zachary (Don’t read anything about this movie in advance, just watch it. But DEFINITELY have something lighthearted on standby to watch afterwards.)

    If silly British comedy with a laugh track is your cup o’ tea, go straight to the classic: Black Adder.

    And just in case you missed a great American classic: The Wonder Years.

    • Posted 09/13/2012 at 7:25 PM | Permalink | Reply

      Black Adder is in my queue! Good one…(not that I’ve seen it yet).

      Thank you for all of those recs. Will check them out.

      This Bill Gongol? There are a million Bills in this world we live, so if you are a different Bill, I am glad you are here and I’m sorry I guessed incorrectly.

    • Posted 09/16/2012 at 8:10 PM | Permalink | Reply

      I just watched Dear Zachary and balled my eyes out. Unbelievable.

      • Bill
        Posted 09/25/2012 at 10:14 AM | Permalink

        Oops. I guess the problem with semi-anonymous hit-and-run blog commenting is that you’re not notified of follow-ups, and then you might just appear rude later on.

        Yep it’s Bill G, and Dear Zachary had the same effect on me. Even though it ruined my life for a couple days and left me plotting to overthrow the Canadian justice system, I thought it was a worthwhile view.

        You should definitely also watch Marwencol. It also has a pretty nasty premise, but it’s about an outsider artist, it’s fascinating, and it has a happy ending.

      • Posted 09/25/2012 at 11:01 AM | Permalink

        oooo! I shall put Marwencol on the roster. thanks!

  2. Posted 09/21/2012 at 9:46 PM | Permalink | Reply

    If all the cool kids haven’t convinced me to join Netflix before the new Arrested Development episodes are released, that will undoubtedly be the thing that makes it happen. There are so many things I haven’t seen!

Your thoughts matter:

