The card that got Rachel the job

Not sure where to start when it comes to Rachel. Funniest, most talented designer? I suppose that will do for now.

I got to hang with her at her studio (Doejo) during my Chicago visit in July. She let me pretend to draw as she actually worked. (In my defense, that was right after I found out I was getting published. Never has a blank page been so scary. Maybe that’s how comedians feel when people ask them to say something funny. “I can’t perform for you on the spot like this! Not when you’re watching and scrutinizing me”, said Becky to paper.)

The reason I post this picture is because I saw she put it on Instagram not too long ago. I really liked it at first glace, but the second time I read the caption and realized this was the card she left her  boss after the interview to get the internship. That’s how cool she is. No dopey “clever” gimmicks. Just a good old fasioned back hug. Lung bond. Whatever you want to call it.

Anyway, you should follow Rachel on Twitter and Instagram @placentahat.

2 Comments

  1. Posted 09/19/2012 at 7:46 PM | Permalink | Reply

    yr sweet :D

  2. Posted 09/21/2012 at 10:01 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I love the name of her studio! Rachel is full of wit and talent, clearly.

    As are you, even when the paper is being all judgy.

Your thoughts matter:

