Book Report IV: better and better

I know I’m a day late on this report, and I know I missed two consecutive Knee-Slappin’ Fridays, and I know I haven’t actually done any Chip Ear Things posts, but I’ve been drawing and drinking wine with friends. Friendship time, quiet time and book time all come before blog time. Also, my new computer, Lloyd, had a bit of a glitch on Saturday (as in, he is out of commission until Apple’s witch doctors fix him. Yes, that set me back and yes, it’s better than breaking my arm.)

The book is coming along real well. I feel incredibly encouraged after my friends came over to critique last night. It gets tough looking at blank pages knowing that I have to make something in exactly x-amount of time and it has to be good or else — well, it just has to be good; and it’s no big deal — it will be good, but still. Constraints are vital to the design process, and I am grateful for them. You don’t get stronger if you don’t increase the weight, and you don’t get faster if you have time to walk.

I really do love working on this project. It brings me life. I have as many drawings as my dad has years, and I am learning to celebrate the journey more than ever. I used to be anxious about how I would deal with the toddlers mixed with the elders. The early ones! Little detail! Too much detail! The perspective! The color! Now I see them as a whole family instead of just the twins. It adds texture. Some have thicker lines. Some brighter palettes. Some of the gals have bony knees and some look like they eat pasta with their friends.

But when they hang on my wall and look at me as they are now, I believe they would all enjoy the same white elephant gift exchange, and they would opt for a non-traditional Christmas card.


@beckycmurphy

4 Comments

  1. Posted 09/25/2012 at 11:12 AM | Permalink | Reply

    It’s kinda like you’re an author getting to know your main character better as you write her. Actually, maybe it’s exactly like that. Love it!

  2. Posted 09/25/2012 at 4:54 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Bahaha. I can’t wait to see this book. It’s obnoxious that I wish I were shorter and you’re book is throwing it in my face. But you know, it couldn’t be done in a more hilarious and adorable way so I got over my bitterness and it’s moved on to jealousy. I guess that’s moving in the right direction, amirite?

  3. Posted 09/25/2012 at 10:30 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I want to be a part of your drawings’ family! So I’m glad that they will eventually be available for acquisition, so I can live with them!

    I love that your computer’s name is Lloyd! But not so much that Lloyd needs some Apple witch doctoring. And I will ALWAYS love that you living life is the reason for a blog post delay. :)

Your thoughts matter:

