vortex of inspiration

I’m feeling so encouraged and motivated as of late. There is more goodness to be consumed and recycled than there are hours in the day. For this I must rejoice.

I’m a bit surprised by how inspired I was after watching The September Issue and Vidal Sassoon documentaries. I normally don’t spring for the fashion stuff, but I still find it interesting  The September Issue documents Anna Wintour, editor-in-chief at Vogue during the production of the largest issue Vogue has ever put out. It wasn’t so much her passion or tenacity that got my wheels spinning, but being a fly on the wall in this foreign land that I wouldn’t have otherwise been exposed. It was like being at a zoo. Except it was a zoo on TV where everyone knows there are cameras and it was filmed a long time ago. Okay! It was exactly like watching the Discovery Channel. Seeing the creative photo shoots makes me anxious to take my camera out and play.

Vidal Sassoon was also really interesting. Not only because of his incredibly humble background, but because of his will to omit the superfluous. His goal wasn’t to be the best at what he was doing — he just couldn’t stand how hair was being done. He knew what he didn’t like and moved from there. He worked with lines and shape instead of against them.

Have you watched any inspiring documentaries lately?

*images by Robert Longo


@beckycmurphy

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted 10/11/2012 at 7:23 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Love the Robert Longo reference! ~ Christian Vandehaar

  2. Anonymous
    Posted 10/12/2012 at 9:17 AM | Permalink | Reply

    I recommend you watch “Indie Game: The Movie”. While not the same medium, you should recognize your own personal goals for independence, inspiration, and completion in the people it follows as they try to finish games deeply personal to who they are and what they want to share with the world.

  3. Posted 10/12/2012 at 12:39 PM | Permalink | Reply

    A good documentary always leaves me feeling so inspired! Being Elmo really moved me. I also enjoyed About Face – it’s a doc about aging super models. It wasn’t super awesome but it really got me thinking about age and beauty from a new perspective.

Your thoughts matter:

