Book Report VII

It’s been too long! Last week was really busy and had an unexpected trip to Milwaukee. Always good to see the family, despite the circumstances.

This week has been just as cray (can I say that?). The book is coming to a close, but not until November 1st. I have a couple more drawings to do,though the edits are the biggest time suck. It’s tricky because while I know what needs to be changed, it’s less cut and dry. The other weeks I knew I had 10 drawings to do then I was done. Now all of the decisions I put off and details I said I’d redo if I had time are here. I have to be decisive and I have to be quick. 100 is a lot to work with. It turns out that when each caption stands alone, they’re tricky to edit. I’ve been emailing friends, my agent and editor with variations of the same sentence, maybe one uses a comma and the other with an ellipses. I’m in the home stretch. I just got a couple of hours of sleep Monday night while last night I passed out for nine. I’ve given up on balance entirely, which is not okay. I won’t worry about it unless it’s November 5th and I’m still eating cinnamon rolls at 3:30 AM.

I’m really proud of the book. I’m excited to, in a year, point out some of the earlier drawings compared to the latest. I’ve improved so much; that alone has made this journey worthwhile. (plus there are one billion other reasons.)


@beckycmurphy

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted 10/24/2012 at 3:47 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so excited for you Reba, cannot wait to see the finished product. It has been SO fun hearing about your process throughout. I friggin Love you!

    • Posted 10/24/2012 at 3:49 PM | Permalink | Reply

      Brieba?

    • Posted 03/15/2013 at 7:59 PM | Permalink | Reply

      these are wonderful ! i love the color in your first and i can just hear that wolf hliowng – haha! i am enjoying my tangle journal, too, i need to post some pics

  2. Posted 10/25/2012 at 9:48 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Excited for you! Can’t wait to see the book! I cannot remember if you told us, but when should we expect the release?

    • Posted 10/25/2012 at 1:48 PM | Permalink | Reply

      You’re so sweet! It will still be another year until it comes out…Fall of 2013. p.s. the NPR interview is on today’s post!

Your thoughts matter:

