My oath this week

Olli KekäläinenI’ve had it. I did this a while ago and it went so well that I thought I’d never go back. It was amazing! Life changing! I was actually living the way I already gave myself credit for living! I realized how much time I had wasted and how much I was saving!

I’m an internet addict. Partially understandable due to my job, but it’s been ridiculous lately. Maybe my (mostly) four days off put me in withdrawal? Hope not because that would be sad, but it’s already sad so I need to move on. This isn’t about Facebook, in particular. I’m checking my email, Twitter, I’d Rather be Short Twitter, my Instagram, my I’d Rather be Short Instagram, blog stuff, etc. WAY TOO MUCH. It’s just a ranky habit that needs to stop. It doesn’t have nicotine, so I should be fine.

I’m going to go back to checking these sites twice a day. No more. I will report early next week and we’ll see where to take it from there. It’s embarrassing that I have to make a blog post about it, but it was the greatest when I followed through last time. One nice thing about the blog is I have people to hold me accountable. If you find yourself compulsively checking email or _____, please join me. I need to separate myself from my work and online self because those are secondary, and mustn’t get any more credit than just that.

P.S. It’s not snowing, but these Olli Kekäläinen photos make me wish it was. Check more out on his Flickr page.


t: @beckycmurphy  |   i: @beckz_

7 Comments

  1. Hope
    Posted 11/27/2012 at 9:35 AM | Permalink | Reply

    But how… Tell me how…

    If my work is entirely online, how can I ever escape online life? Of course, even in saying that, I start to think of ways I could pull some of my work offline. But only some.

    Help me.

    I’ll check back here in about 5 minutes for your response.

    And then in 5 more.

    And in 5 more.

    • Posted 11/27/2012 at 9:23 PM | Permalink | Reply

      These are good thoughts. I’m sorry I was unable to come to your aid sooner, Hope. I was abiding by the very rules I set for myself in this post.

      I suppose the idea for me comes down to checking these outlets twice a day when I’m contributing, and not necessarily taking. If I have a very very VERY punny tweet, need to send an email or look up a friend on Facebook (so I know I am spelling their name right…YEEESH), I have no shame in that.

      I don’t go to Wikipedia for fun; I go when I need it. I want my crutch sites to be comparable to that in their own right. One day, perhaps. Maybe that’s not realistic, but at least while I’m trying I’m not spending time deciding if I should delete or keep old profile pictures.

      • Posted 01/03/2013 at 12:26 AM | Permalink

        This! This I find so helpful! I find I’m wasting way too much time online lately. Especially with all the other things I want to get done, that require me to not be spending so much time on things with little payoff.

  2. Posted 11/27/2012 at 11:28 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful photos!

  3. Posted 12/06/2012 at 9:12 AM | Permalink | Reply

    What a smart idea! I may need to try this out. Internet is sooo necessary but such a time suck

    • Posted 12/06/2012 at 2:12 PM | Permalink | Reply

      i did a terrible job! i want to redo it. maybe we can be accountability partners???

Your thoughts matter:

