Acuña goods

mexico2 copy

(Recap from trip two weekends ago)

Mexico was great. I did the same kind of thing a couple times in high school, so I vaguely knew what I was getting myself into. The quick summary: it was just what I needed when I most needed it. (You probably already heard that because that’s what I told everyone.)

mexico7

mexico1 copy

mexico8

About 10 of us drove from Austin to Acuña Thursday night and arrived home on Sunday. Short trip. I visit Austin all the time and spend more money than I did on this quick trip to Mexico. I’m grateful my boss let me have that Friday off at the last minute so I could surround myself with a community that I want to be more like. We woke up at 6:30 every morning and worked until it was dark. We completed the house in 2.5 days.

mexico6

I’m glad I went and thankful they invited me. It was  a good reminder that the world still turns when I’m not working on the book, blog or work. I detest how much Americans work, and I am among the worst. It wouldn’t be this way if I didn’t love it, but seeking balance is important. It was good to step away from clocks, mirrors and technology.

We love because he first loved us. —1 John 4:19

t: @beckycmurphy  |   i: @beckz_

3 Comments

  1. Posted 12/18/2012 at 12:22 PM | Permalink | Reply

    We went there a few times in high school as well to work with a local church. Memories!

  2. Posted 01/02/2013 at 11:58 PM | Permalink | Reply

    You totally made me cry, in the best way! :)

Your thoughts matter:

