Freelance + Austin…here I come

becky-doodlesIf you’ve been around me lately, you may already know the news.

I’m leaving my job at the end of January to pursue my dream of freelance! It is most definitely a huge leap of faith, and I have a lot of work ahead of me this month. Also big: I’m moving to Austin!

It’s going to be really hard to leave my Waco pals, but I’m grateful to already have a community in Austin. Most cliché move, right? I’m so excited! I’m so excited! I’m so…scared. Just kidding. I really just wanted to link to that Saved by the Bell clip. Yes, I’m apprehensive, as I have abandoned security and routine. But I have to at least try.

I have a lot of great things to say about Hole in the Roof and Waco, but I will give that a post of its own. For now I just want to give you this save the date because I need your help.

I am going to need clients. I’m still working on my portfolio, but I’ll be sure to post it as soon as she’s ready. I’m available for hire in February. Print, web, illustration, etc.

Also, If you are an Austinite, freelancer, high fiver, pie maker, creative cat, illustrator, fun-times-welcomer, totally not creative, but loves bloody marys, etc, let’s be friends!

Thanks for all your support along the way. I’ve gotten more than my share of positive happenings this year, and it’s because of those that I am brave enough to take the plunge. Exciting times ahead for us all!

*above pic is my work on my tumblr.

t: @beckycmurphy  |   i: @beckz_

11 Comments

  1. Car
    Posted 12/21/2012 at 9:33 AM | Permalink | Reply

    You’re amazing Becky! You deserve all good things in the world!!!

  2. Posted 12/21/2012 at 9:34 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Becky,

    Welcome to the Austin design community. If you are looking to make connections, I would reach out to the AIGA Austin board (http://austin.aiga.org). One option is to volunteer – good for making friends, collaborators and even clients. Other is to come out to events and enjoy the mutual love of design.

    Best of luck!

    • Posted 12/21/2012 at 10:07 AM | Permalink | Reply

      Those are great! I will definitely check them out in February. I’m hoping to mostly do illustration, but I’m willing to take anything the first few months to pay the bills.

  3. As I Go
    Posted 12/25/2012 at 12:44 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats and good luck Becky! Welcome to the list of “Awesome People I Know in Austin.”

  4. Posted 12/27/2012 at 11:20 AM | Permalink | Reply

    That is so exciting! Congratulations on this big decision. Can’t wait to hear more about your Austin adventures/see your developing portfolio!

    • Posted 12/27/2012 at 11:56 AM | Permalink | Reply

      thank you! I’m realizing how much I have to do…soon. But it’s fun. I think the way girls get excited about the idea of owning a boutique is how I feel about this — lots of work but I get to create a storefront for myself. Good times ahead!

  5. Posted 01/02/2013 at 11:48 PM | Permalink | Reply

    EXCITING!!!!!!!!!! I have long had to remind myself that you live in Waco and not Austin. So, not only are you doing something totally rad, you are also making my life easier! ;) Seriously, though, this is FABULOUS! CONGRATULATIONS!!! :)

    I’m not in Austin, but I have an illustrator friend who is. He is one of the best people I know (but haven’t met, even though I was friends with his sister when I lived in Texas). I know he’s pretty well involved with the design/illustrator community there. If you’d like, I’d be glad to get more info from him.

  6. Posted 01/14/2013 at 10:33 PM | Permalink | Reply

    This might weird you out, but I just saw your work on Dribbble and followed a link to find your site. I’m also moving to Austin and doing freelance illustration (moving in June). Cheers to new places and freelance!

One Trackback

  1. By See you in February « Chipper Things on 01/01/2013 at 11:48 AM

    […] « Freelance + Austin…here I come […]

Your thoughts matter:

