See you in February

hello2013Greetings friends,

I love this time of year. The holidays are over and things are returning to normal. It’s a time to reflect on 2012 and be thankful for what we have, or what we had. Don’t let “what you could have done” bring you down — let’s remember how far we’ve come. I’m grateful I can’t help everything in my life.

I have goals for the new year, but I don’t want to share them until they are closer to fruition (mostly because of this). It’s just as important to trim the fat as it is to add new initiatives, so I’m going to take a little sabbatical from the blog during January. Exciting times are ahead (starting freelance in February), and I have a lot to get done. Book work. Portfolio. Boring business hullaballoo. Cleaning & packing & moving. And most importantly, I want to enjoy my last four weeks in Waco.  These are the friends that took me in when I was fresh from the womb of Iowa.  I’m not going to miss a breakfast or arrive late to a party because I’m writing a blog post. Plus, I want to make some changes to this little hut, and I can’t do those overnight.

You can follow my Twitter (@beckycmurphy) and Instagram (@beckz_). Or, if you’re really feeling saucy, follow @idratherbeshort on Twitter. If you’re a design nerd, I might add some portfolio process peaks to dribbble along the way.

I can’t wait to come back with this baby new and improved for February, and start my freelance career! If you have any work inquiries, please shoot me and email at rcm619@gmail.com. I’d love to hear from you (really).

Cheers to 2013!

b

4 Comments

  1. Posted 01/02/2013 at 11:56 PM | Permalink | Reply

    For as much as I adore your blogging (even if I’ve been so terrible at showing it lately) I am always so very glad when you take the time you need for yourself. I’m also glad it’s for such exciting reasons.

    And since I’m pretty sure I’ve failed to acknowledge and thank you for something that was kind of a biggish deal for my 2012, thank you for inspiring me to get back on the writing wagon again. It’s been a bit slow going, but, just you being you and getting to read your words made more of an impact than I think I could put into my own words. I so appreciate it!

    I have no doubt your 2013 is going to be MAGNIFICENT! In big and small ways and I’m so looking forward to finding out about them! :)

  2. Posted 01/14/2013 at 10:46 PM | Permalink | Reply

    You are the sweetest. I thought I replied. Send me your address! Email rcm619@gmail.com
    I hope things are well for you!

  3. Posted 01/23/2013 at 5:27 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so excited for you leaping out into freelance. Good for you. I’m in the process of just starting to put myself out there as a freelance designer, too. Good luck with your move. Will be sure to check back to your blog in February!

    xx. amber

    • Posted 01/25/2013 at 5:00 PM | Permalink | Reply

      You’re so sweet! Thank you Amber. Good luck on your journey as well, let’s stay in touch!

Your thoughts matter:

