My One Thing

`~*bAcK 2 BlOgGiNg*~`

I’ve been making excuse after excuse as to why I don’t have time to draw/write/blog/etc. Enough is enough. It’s time to get back into shape, even if it’s ugly and awkward.

Every day my roommate and I tape a note card to our door that says, “My one thing” then there’s a column for each of us and we have to do it. Maybe it’s scheduling a doctor checkup, starting a research paper or finishing some business cards. But it gets done because it’s ONE THING.

It has to be tangible / measurable. Ideally it’s something we’re tempted to put off day after day.

One thing means no excuses.

Baby steps + focus.

It gets done.

Like this post. 

Because starting from somewhere is better than starting from nowhere.

 

4 Comments

  1. Posted 04/26/2013 at 8:08 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Do you read the blog The Billfold? Every Thursday they “Do 1 Thing”, haha. I love that theory because, you’re right, it’s just one thing.

    • Posted 04/27/2013 at 10:16 AM | Permalink | Reply

      That’s great! I just checked out that blog. It’s a wise thing to start doing. Even if it’s washing your sheets, it’s still something you may not have done otherwise.

  2. Posted 04/29/2013 at 9:08 AM | Permalink | Reply

    You must have read the book, “The One Thing……” by Gary Keller. A great read that explains the value and power of the One Thing you are on to.

    • Posted 04/29/2013 at 10:27 AM | Permalink | Reply

      I don’t know that book! Sounds really good though. I’ve recently realized that the greatest things I accomplished was when I limited it to one thing and I was so so so focused.

Your thoughts matter:

