Mother’s Day contest

babemoms

amaniRemember how it’s Mother’s Day on May 12?…

…right.

Remember how you put off thinking about it last year and then you scrambled to figure something out last minute? Let’s not let this year be another statistic.

Emily Kirwan and I are here to help. Emily works for Amani Ya Juu, a company that empowers African women to make and sell their goods at a fair price. Check them out here.

We want to give you a shot at winning some sweet goods for the best lady in your life; it’s almost like winning a stuffed animal for your date at the county fair. Almost.

Winner gets to pick something from this page on the Amani site, as well as a personalized card made by yours truly. That’s what moms want, right? Someone else’s kid to make the card?

To win these jewels, you can either:

1. Tell a sweet  or funny little story about your mama. Or perhaps describe her lovable quirks. Write it in the comments or Tweet/Instagram it to @beckycmurphy

or

2. Post a photo of your mom (with or without you, vintage or recent). Use the hashtag, #ICalledMyMomToday. Or, again, Tweet/Instagram it to @beckycmurphy. We’ll find you!

Do so by 11:00 AM Sunday, May 5. We’ll randomly pick the winner at that time.

16 Comments

  1. Posted 05/02/2013 at 10:32 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Funny story about my mom: She used to think Madonna and Justin Timberlake’s “4 Minutes” lyrics were, “We only got 4 minutes to say the word.” So she was singing in the car one day and kept hilariously saying the wrong lyrics. When the song ended, she looked at me and asked what “the word” was. Adorable. She now knows the real lyrics, but alas, I will always in my head hear “say the word” instead of “save the world.” So sweet.

    -Sar

    • Posted 05/02/2013 at 10:34 AM | Permalink | Reply

      haha that’s hilarious! My college roommate always thought “pop lock and drop it” said something about a cock block. I always think of her lyrics when I hear that song too. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Posted 05/02/2013 at 12:19 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Funny story about my mom: Following my high school graduation, my parents and a few of my close friends went out to dinner at a nice restaurant. My mom is usually somewhat demure and rarely ever drinks. However, at the dinner she decided to have a couple glasses of wine. Somehow the topic of sex and Twilight came up. My mom, as a nurse, decided that my graduation party was the perfect time to lecture my friends and me about the perils of oral sex and spent 5 minutes describing oral herpes and how you could get STDs from oral sex. I was mortified!

  3. Leah H
    Posted 05/02/2013 at 12:23 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I’m completely inspired by the work of Amani Ya Juu–what a great opportunity to connect with individuals across the globe! Stay tuned for a vintage shot of Mrs. H!!

  4. Posted 05/02/2013 at 1:25 PM | Permalink | Reply

    My mom is adorable – once she called one of her good friends and was leaving a message on her answering machine. At the end, instead of “Call me!” or “Goodbye!” she said “In Jesus’ name, Amen!” And hung up the phone. My sisters and I laughed so hard, we cried. Then we went to her friend’s house and listened to the message over an over again!

  5. Anonymous
    Posted 05/02/2013 at 9:51 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Funny story about my mom: She loved volunteer to drive for absolutely every elementary school trip she could. She also loved embarrassing me as much as possible during these trips. Her favorite way of doing this was to roll down the window and moo as loud as she could at cows and then laugh hysterically when I sat mortified as my schoolmates and I rode along in the mini-van. Another favorite way to embarrass me was to car dance to the oldies channel while I stared stonily out the window in shame. Lastly, she used to set “car ground rules” and make everyone abide by her strict “my rules, my car” motto. Junior high was tough.

    • Posted 05/03/2013 at 11:30 AM | Permalink | Reply

      that’s so good. i love these stories so much. thank you for sharing. also, i hope to embarrass my kids like this.

  6. Posted 05/03/2013 at 8:07 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful prizes!! I’ll need to think about a good story…

  7. Laura Weible
    Posted 05/03/2013 at 9:08 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Mom’s are the best – just like these great gifts! I’ve you’ve ever seen the SNL skit Mom Celebrity Translator ( http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x9oomn_mom-celebrity-translator_fun#.UYPDsjmIIRk ) – my mom is the perfect example of this in every way, not just celeb referrences. She recently referred to the clothing store, Jos A Banks, as Jose Banks. We love to tease her, but she’s the best ever.

  8. Posted 05/07/2013 at 10:02 AM | Permalink | Reply

    who won who won!

    • Posted 05/07/2013 at 2:53 PM | Permalink | Reply

      gaaahhh! I should have announced. Sarah won the contest. Sorry, my friend :(

  9. Anonymous
    Posted 05/09/2013 at 7:56 PM | Permalink | Reply

    LOVE Amani Yu Juu! Such a wonderful idea and beautiful outcome. Spreading the word here in Minneapolis as we speak…

Your thoughts matter:

