Writing about a writing class!

spikeThanks to Super Agent Laurie Abkemeier, I’m pals with Dr. Kate, and  thanks to Kate, I’m not only pals with Spike, but also taking her badass writing workshop.

Thanks to our strong friendships, I’m not going to edit that run-on s    s  e   n    t      e      n            c              e, despite the fact that Laurie is a lit agent, Kate a writer-surgeon-lawyer-furniture maker-landlord, and Spike, a renown writing instructor.

Shoot! Did it again!

Weeks fill up quickly with work, appointments, meetings, playdates (for me), etc. Tuesdays are a night of rest. The class sits in a room occupied by yogis the hour prior. We listen to each other’s essays, poems and stories. Some hardly read; some always read. It’s life-giving both ways. On the especially saucy nights, someone shares a haiku. I love it. It’s inspiring to sit in a room full of women serious about their craft and seriously good.

I recommend checking out Spike’s workshops, retreats or coaching. She’s a great listener and great teacher. Are you guys in any classes, workshops or going on any retreats? A friend of mine in Philadelphia just took a French class with her boyfriend. I love hearing about other grown up’s extracurricular activities. It’s aways good to step away from our regular demands, and indulge in the unknown.

*drawing by yours truly during our last class.

follow on Twitter Instagram

4 Comments

  1. Posted 07/02/2013 at 5:30 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, that’s me on the end, isn’t it? :-D I am going to have to drop in as I can this go round b/c I’m traveling a lot. Will miss y’all tonight.

    • Posted 07/02/2013 at 5:33 PM | Permalink | Reply

      haha you caught me! I’m sure it was suspicious as I staring at you while drawing.

  2. Sue Cleveland
    Posted 07/03/2013 at 8:01 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Fun illustration. I missed being in workshop last night. See you next time.

  3. Posted 07/09/2013 at 1:26 AM | Permalink | Reply

    This sounds awesome! I’m finding informal, loose collectives making up the majority of my extracurriculars. But they’re all creative and wonderful people, so I’m bound to learn something every time.

One Trackback

  1. By My Own Writing Retreat | Writing = Passion on 07/08/2013 at 11:53 AM

    […] Writing about a writing class! (chipperthings.com) […]

Your thoughts matter:

