Detoxicated

carrotface

Remember that detox (similar to the elimination diet) I talked about not too long ago? I finished it up on Saturday. It was a wonderful journey. I learned a lot and I’m proud of myself for sticking to it.

Recap of the rules: 21 days. 1-10: fruits, veggies, protein powder, 1 cup of rice or quinoa. 11-21: add meat/fish. Caffeine, sugar, alcohol, corn, nuts and beans are not permissible throughout the cleanse. After the detox is complete, add everything back one by one.

Now that I have the culinary world at my disposal, I have no desire to eat pizza or cookies anytime soon. What am I looking forward to eating now that I have this newfound freedom? Almond milk and hummus. Maybe garbanzo beans if I’m feeling frisky!

I’d rather share this information with you than keep it to myself in risk of sounding like a snobby granola. I feel fantastic, and I want you to as well. Just get through the first few days. It only gets better, and if I can do it, anyone can do it. This is what I ate the weeks prior. My food groups were ice cream, cheese, bagels and vodka tonics. I never thought that when this was over I’d want to stick with it.

I highly recommend.

My friend Lindsey does it every six months, and I hope to do the same (if not earlier). I’ll let you know when I do it next. Maybe if you haven’t already given it a try, we can all do it together. Eh?

roastedcarrots

Later this week I’ll talk more about:

-Meals throughout
-Itemized grocery list, and exactly how much every meal cost (never more than $9/day)
-On the go
-MVP foods
-helpful tricks
-Whole Foods vs. H-E-B
-What I learned about my body & how I learned to respect food

follow on Twitter Instagram

6 Comments

  1. Posted 07/16/2013 at 11:39 AM | Permalink | Reply

    Becky!

    You’ve been killing it lately with your blog posts– I love reading and that you’re sharing more work!

    I want to hear more about this cleanse– it sounds like a good challenge and I can’t imagine how healthy you feel. I was doing really good with not eating much dairy but have fallen back onto the cheese wagon.

    • Posted 07/16/2013 at 12:00 PM | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks, Jen! I’d love to divulge the dirty secrets. I just think it’s the best.

      I understand what you mean about cheese. If you put some goat cheese in front of me right now, I’d probably inhale it and not look back. I’d probably feel the gut bomb more than ever, but it may still be worth it.

  2. Posted 07/18/2013 at 2:09 PM | Permalink | Reply

    What about Central Market vs. Whole Foods? (same veg, 20% cheaper)

    • Posted 07/18/2013 at 2:52 PM | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve never been to Central Market, but I know I should. Didn’t know that was the difference. Thank you for sharing. Will definitely check it out.

  3. Megan
    Posted 07/18/2013 at 2:18 PM | Permalink | Reply

    I really like this. Think it’s silly that people who respect their body and make wise eating decisions are looked upon as “snobs.” Excited to read more! Maybe I’ll even try it someday

    • Posted 07/18/2013 at 2:51 PM | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks, Megan! Good point on the snob thing. Our culture is so self-deprecating, which I love and hate. I love it when it’s convenient for *me*, but hate it when I know a joke about eating a wheel of cheese at 3 AM is what the people want, but I actually just had self-control and went to bed sans the dair-bear in my gut.

Your thoughts matter:

