Detoxicated pt. 2: findings & key players

key-players

Time to talk detox again.

If you think I’m dragging this out, think again. This is nothing compared to how much Michael Jordan talked about Nike in the 90’s. If my post from Tuesday didn’t convince you to give it a shot*, maybe this will. Happenings and findings:

1. I felt good after a few days, but fantastic around day 15.

2. I too am capable of calling roasted carrots a “guilty pleasure”.

3. I rediscovered why home-cooked meals at the dinner table (or balcony!) are the centerfold of anti-drug campaigns. It’s fun! And you get to talk to your roommate (or whoever!) about your day. You have to stop working and either eat the delicious meal your friend made, or…plan…and cook a meal for said friend.

4. I (now) mostly understand how much nourishment I need. Planning isn’t that hard. If I’m going out for the day, I know how much to pack and I don’t have to worry about a wave of unsolicited hunger.

5. Budgeting is easier. See #10.

6. Raw vegetables taste better and better the more you give them a chance.

7. I understand my body more. If food is the biggest drug, and you know you’re doing the best you can, it’s easier to identity reasons for an off day.

8. I appreciate the delicacies now that I’m on the dark side again. And I don’t need to overindulge because a little goes a long way. I’m talking to you, booze and ice cream.

9. I feel less entitled to snack every time I have the slightest pang of peckishness. Planning is expected.

10. I $aved a lot of money. No restaurants + no bars = treat yo self to Whole Foods once in a while.

BONUS: I’m less hungry and my skin is significantly clearer.

*wheatgrass shot


follow on Twitter Instagram

One Comment

  1. Posted 07/19/2013 at 7:18 AM | Permalink | Reply

    I wish I could do this but have too many health issues and am too thin to pull this off but sounds great! Or has great benefits haha.

    Ali of

    Dressing Ken

Your thoughts matter:

