DETOXICATED PT. 3: Meals

detoxing-is-coolI know I still owe you some more information, like how much I spent and whatever else I mentioned in my Tuesday post, BUT, I went paddle boarding with Jenny today and I think this post will suffice.

I’ve had a few people ask what I ate and how I planned meals. Next time I do it I’d like to branch out and incorporate more vegetables (beets, radishes, etc). I’d also like to eat more of it raw, and use more recipes when I cook. Recipes that require mincing ginger and that sort of thing. I went very basic and didn’t research new ideas. Here’s how it typically broke down:

breakfast: smoothie or egg & spinach (eggs after day 10)

smoothie: frozen strawberries or blueberries, 2 carrots, a handful of kale or spinach, a tablespoon of cocoa powder (if it had strawberries), 1 scoop of protein powder (Garden of Life raw protein, whey, Whole Foods, vanilla $20), 1/2 avocado, 1/4 cucumber.  I put water in it during the cleanse, but almond milk after (no nuts allowed).

egg & spinach: scramble some egg, spinach, olive oil, sea salt, +/- 1/2 avocado.

lunch: brown rice/quinoa salad or leftovers

Usually consisted of some or all of the ingredients: rice/quinoa, spinach, kale, 1/2 avocado, tomato, cucumbers, sea salt, olive oil/coconut oil/ balsamic vinaigrette.

dinner: roasted vegetables

Examples: baked sweet potato (I learned that sometimes when we think we’re sick of a certain food, we’re really just sick of the texture. We started chopping these up into little chips and roasting them and it tasted like a whole new food), kale chips, butternut squash, summer squash, spaghetti squash (with garlic!), roasted eggplant, caramelized onions, roasted carrots, roasted broccoli, zucchini, etc.

Snacks: apples, carrots, peaches, clementines, mangos, pineapple.

I tried to only eat two servings of fruit /day. Though, I didn’t feel bad about treating myself.

MVP salad snack: spinach, avocado, mango, sea salt, olive oil.
MVP dinner: roasted carrots and broccoli, sweet potatoes doused in coconut oil.
MVP spice: thyme
MVP time saver: cooking a bunch of rice/quinoa early in the week so salads are all ready to go
Most improved: cucumbers and carrots
Most underrated: water

Do you have any good ways to mix up these foods? I’d like to hear what you’ve been doing. This is the most vanilla way to go, which is fine, but I think stepping up my game would make it a richer experience.


follow on Twitter Instagram

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    Posted 07/19/2013 at 2:32 PM | Permalink | Reply

    it all sounds amazing, makes me want to throw out this can of frosting i’m eating!

  2. Kendra
    Posted 07/19/2013 at 2:33 PM | Permalink | Reply

    it all sounds amazing, makes me want to throw out this can of frosting i’m eating!

Your thoughts matter:

