Lessons from my mother

1. Take your vitamins.

2. Don’t buy because it’s on sale. If you wouldn’t want it at regular price, what difference does the money make? (I have a feeling that this isn’t an aha-moment for the male readers.)

3. Don’t be trendy  just to be trendy. If the “cool patchwork jeans” look unbecoming on you, then it is not your trend. She told me that middle parts were all the rage — but not for Crystal. Crystal is not a fool. Crystal is not going to be fooled by the masses and she sure as hell isn’t going to be fooled by a hair stylist. She has rocked the side part her whole life and hasn’t looked back.

4. Keep your jewelry. It takes minimal storage and your high school daughter [me] just may go through a phase where loud and dated jewelry is, “like, seriously the coolest thing ever.”

5. Know what colors make you glow. I am a winter. Only crisp and cool colors were allowed when growing up. I felt guilty whenever I bought yellow or orange. I knew in her heart she was disappointed, but then she probably remembered that my idea of rebelling was buying yellow and orange. “I think Becky is going to be okay,” she must have said to my dad.

6. Pray fervently. Then pray more! This is a woman of faith and I have no idea how she has stayed so strong.

7. If you want French silk pie for dinner then eat French silk pie for dinner. (I didn’t need to be taught this, but as I proofread I realized that I skipped #7).

8. Don’t let under garments show. Keep the whale tales hidden in the deep denim sea.

9. Posture is imperative to those lacking a tall stature. Stand as if there is a string pulling you up. Every time I go home, I get this talk from my parents. I think they are still surprised that I’m not taller.

10. Being involved in the community should be normal. Don’t talk about change. Just do it. School board? PTA? Volunteer firefighter? No problem. (except for the firefighter)

4 Comments

  1. Posted 02/29/2012 at 2:47 PM | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Becky!

  2. Posted 02/29/2012 at 4:50 PM | Permalink | Reply

    She is so beautiful! Love number 7.

  3. Anonymous
    Posted 02/29/2012 at 6:01 PM | Permalink | Reply

    This is seriously my favorite blurb of yours. And let me be the first to say…. Crystal was a fox!

  4. Posted 03/01/2012 at 9:46 AM | Permalink | Reply

    #5. i love it. can we figure out what season i am so i can stop making fashion faux pas?

Your thoughts matter: